Southern California
Kendo Federation


SCKF New Year's Party
Sunday, 1/13/19

  • When:
    • Sunday 1/13/19, 12 to 3pm
  • Where:
    • Almansor Court (map)
      700 South Almansor Street, Alhambra CA 91801
  • Cost:
    • $40 per person (drinks not included)
    • $20 for children ages 3 to 10
    • no charge for advisor, cabinet, or guest (but please be sure to to list on form)
    • each dojo please pay with one check instead of individually; bring it to the party
    • each dojo please donate one door prize, value $50 or more

  • Please RSVP to Yamasaki sensei (
    • see rsvp form (xlsx)
      mark "advisor", "cabinet" (officer), "guest" (see list below)
      all others mark "$40" ($20 for child)
    • deadline: 1/6/19
    • every dojo is expected to participate (attendees and door prize)!
    • dojo counts
      ALH      0
      ANC      1
      CHUO     6
      CM       4
      COV      4    
      GED      3 
      IE       2
      IS       3
      IRV/LHB  0
      JCI      2
      LOS      6
      NOR      2
      OCB      4
      PCI      7
      SB       0
      SD       2
      SFV      0
      SS       0
      STYO     6
      TOR      9
      VEN      2
      VNI      0
      WS       0
      guests   7
      total   70

  • Guests (note: not all will be in attendance)
    • special guests
      Kubota Nikkei Mortuary (Ms Nina Suzuki, Mr Wilson Tam)
      Mr Shige Higashi (Publisher/Editor of Cultural News)
      Kendo Style (Arthur Shih)
      Mazkiya USA (Matsumoto family)
      Mr and Mrs George Nakano (Director Emeritus)
      The Honorable Gary Yamauchi and Mrs Yamauchi (Alhambra councilmember)
      Mr and Mrs Jesse James (Nikkei Games)
      Mr and Mrs Art Ishii (Nikkei Games)
      Mr and Mrs Glenn Tanaka (Nikkei Games)
      Mr and Mrs Wallace Chan (Nikkei Games)
      Mr and Mrs Teddy Matsumoto (Nikkei Games)
      Ms Chris Aihara (Budokan of Los Angeles)
      Ms Kimberly Kawasaki (Budokan of Los Angeles)
      Mr Mike Murase (Budokan of Los Angeles)
      Mr Scott Ito (Budokan of Los Angeles)
    • new 4 dan
      Julian Williams (TOR)
      Nathan Gallinger (CM)
      Dexter Lee (COV)
      Sung Park (CHUO)
      William Honda (LOS)
      James Yang (CM)
      Teppei Makiuchi (STYO)
      Asaki Shinada (STYO)
      Kenn Yook (IS)
      Mike Yu (COV)
    • new 5 dan
      Arashi Steele (TOR)
      Matthew Schultzel (SD)
      Cornelius Van Zutphen (CM)
      James Vahl (SD)
      Kazunori Kobayashi (CM)
      Eric Sunwoo (CHUO)
    • new 6 dan
      Yoshiyuki Goya (OCB)
      Kook Bae Lee (CHUO)
    • new 7 dan
      Yuji Hosokawa (CM)
      Kevin Huh (CHUO)
    • new renshi
      Kenji Takahashi (CM)
      Song Yi Yang (TOR)
    • new kyoshi
      Brandon Harada (STYO)
    • incoming SCKF officers
      President: Kevin Abe
      1st Vice President: Brandon Harada
      2nd Vice President: Yuji Hosokawa
      3rd Vice President: William Kaneshiro
      Executive Secretary: Brian Olson
      Treasurers: Kent Kawai, Jean Kodama
      Public Relations: Kohjiro Kinno, Yuji Hosokawa
      Recording Secretary: James Morioka
    • outgoing SCKF officers
      President: Jean Kodama
      1st Vice President: Kevin Abe
      2nd Vice President: Michael Yu
      3rd Vice President: Brandon Harada
      Executive Secretary: Steve Timbrook
      Treasurers: Kevin Abe, William Honda
      Public Relations: Kohjiro Kinno, Yuji Hosokawa
      Recording Secretary: James Yamasaki
    • SCKF advisors
      Masashi Shikai
      Tim Yuge
      James Yamasaki

[ SCKF home page     disclaimer ]